Can we live without Television?

Nowadays, the children are not glued to a TV screen, myself included. The main reason I decided to do this drastic move is because E has a hard time turning it off after an hour of watching his favorite Cartoon Network. E gets hyperactive and has difficulty transitioning to a different activity afterwards. So, one day I decided we go cold turkey for the whole family and get rid of the TV.  The first couple of days were a little difficult but after a week, they stopped asking about TV time and has resigned to the fact that Cartoon Network is not that important after all.  As for myself, I didn’t miss my shows either.  If I need to watch news, I would go online. Watching television is no longer a part of our daily lives … and I am immensely happy!

Having no TV for a month means kids are having more time playing with each other, reading books, dancing, playing the piano or doing creative projects/art and crafts. I noticed big difference in their behaviors too, mostly on the positive side. Maybe it’s just me but It feels liberating to not have the big screen control your life.  Now I have more time to read books or blog, which I enjoyed. Occasionally, my 5 year old goes to his cousin’s house to play Wii and sometimes we watch a movie, but that’s the extent of it.  We are NOT bringing back the big screen to the household. 🙂

What about you? How do you regulate TV time at home with your children?

Leave a Reply

