Hello Philippines!

We’ve been living in sunny California (Laguna Niguel, Orange county) since May 2007. We have a 5 year old boy and 3 year old girl.  Ethan was born in St. Petersburg, Florida and Kaya (we also call her Aya), in Mission Viejo, California. My husband and I met and got married in New York City and we’ve been moving around the United States when most of our friends and family are still in the east coast. He works in  the IT world and I am a nurse. Travelling is something we like to do and we are happy to have the opportunity to do so.  Some well meaning friends will say that we are depriving the kids of stability, but we believe that travel is an education in itself, and kids can adapt easily given the right environment. All they need is a stable home with parents that care about their physical, mental, emotional and spiritual well-being.

In December, my husband and I decided that the kids and I go back to the Philippines for 6 months vacation while he was transitioning to his new job. I resigned from my job at Mission hospital and bought 3 tickets home. Everyone thinks I’m crazy with the recession in the US and all. But for the first time, I felt good. There is no certainty in life, people lose jobs regardless its  recession or not. You may call it burned out or mid-life crisis, but i was so ready to leave the OC and start a new life in the Philippines.

One of my biggest regrets in life is my inability to teach my children my mother’s tongue which is Filipino. I have tried the OPOL but was not successful enough to produce tri or bilingual children. But its never too late to fix it as they are still in that ideal age to learn the language like a native.  Thus, this blog to chronicle our journey to multilingualism.

Leave a Reply

